skip to Main Content


Austin, known as the city of the "Violet Crown" for the wintertime violet glow of color across the hills at sunset - and for its DELTAS!

Sigma Sigma (Austin Alumnae) and Alpha Kappa Chapters of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. were established simultaneously on November 26, 1930 at Wesley United Methodist Church by the 4th National President, Anna Johnson Julian. Sigma Sigma was the first black Greek letter organization with a graduate chapter in the Texas Capitol City.

Charter members of Sigma Sigma were:

  • Soror Maude Ella Garrett Tyree - (First President)
  • Soror Gladys Brewer Miles - (Second President)
  • Soror Harriette Brown Goff - (Sixth President)
  • Soror Annie Lillie B. H. Armstrong - (First Secretary)
  • Soror Arlyne B. Wyatt - (Served as President of San Antonio Alumnae)

Two associate members were Mable Echols and Jannett Walker McNealy. These sorors were confirmed into full membership at the 11th National Convention in 1931.  Soror Christine Sellers Shackles was the first initiate of Sigma Sigma. By mandate of Grand Chapter, Sigma Sigma became Austin Alumnae in 1956. Two outstanding members of the chapter, Soror Chrystine Shackles and Soror June Brewer served as Southwest Regional Directors.  Austin Alumnae supports three collegiate chapters: Alpha Kappa at Huston-Tillotson University, chartered 1930; Epsilon Beta at the University of Texas at Austin, chartered 1960, and Iota Omega at Southwest Texas State University, chartered 1973. Austin Alumnae provides advisors for each of these chapters and financial assistance as required or requested.

Back To Top